Published On: Sat, Feb 11th, 2017

64 percent voter turnout in first phase of UP Assembly elections

Lucknow: The Election Commission said here on Saturday evening that 64.22 per cent of voters exercised their franchise in 73 assembly constituencies that went to polls in the first of the seven-phase UP Assembly elections.

Barring some stray incidents reported from Baghpat and Meerut, the election was by far peaceful

The EC said that during the course of polling, 2,96,906 troublemakers were identified and preventive actions were taken against them.

Apart from it a total of Rs 19.56 crore cash, 4.44 lakh litre of liquor worth Rs 14 crore and drugs worth Rs 96.93 lakh, gold and silver worth Rs 14 crore were seized in first phase.

Barring some stray incidents reported from Baghpat and Meerut, the election was by far peaceful.

A total of 2.60 crore voters, including over 1.17 crore women and 1,508 belonging to third gender category were eligible to cast their ballot to decide the fate of 839 candidates.

In Meerut, controversial BJP leader Sangeet Som’s brother Gagan Som was detained by police for carrying a pistol inside a polling booth. The security personnel deployed there frisked him and found a pistol in his possession. He was immediately detained, police said.

When Sangeet Som’s was asked for his commenbts on the incident, he said, “well if my brother has violated any law, then he should be made to face the law.”

The first phase of polling will decide the electoral fortunes of son of home minister Rajnath Singh, Pankaj Singh (from Noida), Congress legislature party leader Pradeep Mathur (Mathura) against whom BJP national secretary and spokesman Srikant Sharma is in the fray, daughter of BJP MP Hukum Singh Mriganka Singh (Kairana), and controversial BJP MLAs Sangeet Som and Suresh Rana from Sardhana and Thanabhawan respectively.

The districts where polling was held in this phase are Hapur, Shamli, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Mathura, Hathras, Agra, Firozabad, Etah and Kasganj.

In the 73 constituencies where polling was held today, SP and BSP had bagged 24 seats each, BJP 11, RLD nine and Congress five seats in the 2012 polls.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :