Published On: Tue, Feb 7th, 2017

Repoll ordered in 48 polling stations in Punjab

Chandigarh: The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday ordered repolling in 48 polling stations of five assembly constituencies in Punjab.

Counting of the votes polled will take place on March 11

The repoll will be held on February 9 (Thursday), Election department officials said here on Tuesday.

The EC has also ordered a repoll in some polling stations of the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat for which by-election was held on Sunday (February 4) along with voting for 117 assembly seats.

The assembly constituencies where repoll has been ordered include Majitha, Sangrur, Muktsar, Moga and Sardulgarh.

The repoll has been necessisated due to technical snags in the electronic voting machines (EVMs) in these polling stations during Sunday’s voting process.

The fate of 1,145 candidates, including 81 women and one transgender, has been sealed in the EVMs following voting held on Sunday.

Counting of the votes polled will take place on March 11.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :