Published On: Tue, Apr 11th, 2017

EC announces re-poll in Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency

New Delhi: The Election Commission has ordered re-poll in 38 polling stations of the Srinagar Lok Sabha Constituency on Thursday, after nullifying the earlier polling done on Sunday amidst widespread violence.

Five polling stations are under Beerwah while one falls under Khan Sahib assembly segment

“Having considered the reports submitted by Returning Officers read with the reports of the observers and after taking all material circumstances into account, the Commission hereby declares that the polling done on April 9 at polling stations mentioned to be void and appoints April 13 as the date of fresh poll,” the EC said in an order on Tuesday to Chief Electoral Officer of Jammu and Kashmir.

The repolling will be undertaken between 7 am and 4 pm, it said.

The maximum number of polling stations (total 16) where repolling has been ordered fall in Chadoora assembly segment. Besides, eight polling stations each fall in Budgam and Chrarisharief assembly segments.

Five polling stations are under Beerwah while one falls under Khan Sahib assembly segment.

The by-poll to the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency — spread across three districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal — was marred by widespread violence on Sunday with the police claiming that nearly 200 incidents of violent protests took place in central Kashmir.

Eight civilians were killed and scores injured in firing by security forces as mobs tried to attack some polling stations in the constituency during balloting.

The day also recorded a poor seven per cent voting — the lowest in the state in three decades.

Amid the violence, the Election Commission on Monday deferred the election in the Anantnag parliamentary constituency — scheduled to be held on April 12 — till May 25.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :