Published On: Thu, Apr 6th, 2017

Rajya Sabha passes all four GST bills without amendments

New Delhi: The Congress did not put a spanner and allowed the Rajya Sabha on Thursday to pass four supplementary legislations which will enable the government to rollout the landmark Goods and Services Tax Bill on July 1.

He said, “on 17-18 May we will give final approval to rules and rates

The four Bills are the Central Goods and Services Tax Bill, 2017, the Integrated Goods and Services Tax Bill, 2017, the Goods and Services Tax (Compensation to States) Bill, 2017 and the Union Territory Goods and Services Tax Bill, 2017.

The Lok Sabha last month had approved the Central GST (CGST), Integrated GST (IGST), Union Territory GST (UTGST) and the Compensation to states law.

Earlier, replying to a debate on the bills in Rajya Sabha, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said there is no hesitation in conceding that it is not a bill for which one person or one government should take credit.

Soon after GST bills were passed in the upper house of the Parliament, Jaitley expressed his happiness on consensus over the bills.

He said, “on 17-18 May we will give final approval to rules and rates; looks like it can be implemented from July 1.”

Meanwhile, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh termed the move as game changer.

“It could be a game changer but can’t assume there will be no difficulties on the way,” the former PM said.

As soon as the GST bill was passed in the Upper House, finance minister Arun Jaitley walked up to the seat of Manmohan Singh and shook hands with him.

It may be mentioned that Congress member Jairam Ramesh did not press his amendments relating to Goods and Services Tax bills in Rajya Sabha, saying that he was following advice of former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Congress member T Subbirami Reddy had also given notices for amendments on the bills but he was not present in the house.

Ramesh, while deciding not to press his amendments, said he was following advice of the former Prime Minister to maintain consensus.

However, the amendments moved by Trinamool Congress MP Derek O’ Brien and Communist Party of India-Marxist leader Tapan Sen were negatived after division.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :