Published On: Mon, Jul 24th, 2017

For unruly behaviour, six Congress MPs suspended for five Lok Sabha sittings

New Delhi: Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Monday suspended six Congress members from five sittings because of their unruly conduct.

She said they undermined the chair’s dignity

Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan suspended the six Congress MPs, G Gogoi, KSuresh, Adhiranjan Chowdhary, Ranjeet Ranjan, Sushmita Dev and MK Raghavan.

She said they undermined the chair’s dignity and after announcing her decision, the Speaker adjourned the House for half and hour till 2,30 pm and thereafter for the whole day.

Earlier, the opposition MPs, mainily the Congress members, disrupted the Lok Sabha for close to an hour during zero hour.
The members from the Congress party trooped into the well of the House shouting and agitating and flinging pieces of paper toward the treasury benches and also the House chair.

The suspended MPs also raised objections to a Parliamentary sub commmitte on defence asking for a relook at the Bofors Howitzer gun deal. The matter was raised by BJP member Meenakshi Lekhi and thereafter Nishikant Dubey.

To this “unruly” behaviour of the opposition members, the minister for parliamentary affairs, Ananth Kumar raised serious objection and demanded action against the members throwing papers at the chair. Other members from the treasury benches too stood up and shouted “shame, shame”. Amid chaos, the house was adjourned.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :