Published On: Fri, Jul 28th, 2017

Nitish-BJP win Bihar Assembly trust vote with support of 131 MLAs

Patna: It was on expected lines as the Nitish Kumar-BJP combine won the crucial floor test in the Bihar Assembly with a convincing margin by securing 131 votes.

Nitish-BJP needed 122 members’ support in the 243-member House

On the other hand, the RJD-Congress combine got 108 votes.

To prove his majority, Nitish-BJP needed 122 members’ support in the 243-member House.

In the Bihar Assembly, the RJD has 80 MLAs, the Congress 27 and the CPI-ML three, which adds up to 110. The Opposition got three short of that total.

However, the ruling combination was one short of its 132 MLAs list presented by Nitish to the governor at the time of staking a claim to form the next government. “The JD (U) MLA who could participate in the trust vote is ill and is undergoing treatment in a Delhi hospital,” said a JD (U) leader.

“Secularism should not be allowed to justify corruption,” Nitish said earlier in the House, attempting to justify his shock resignation as CM and break from the ‘grand alliance’ on Wednesday evening.

“The mandate was for the ‘grand alliance’, today Nitish and the BJP have insulted that mandate,”said Tejashwi Yadav of the RJD, which ended up on the losing side.

Nitish resigned as CM on Wednesday evening. A few hours later, the BJP and its allies told the Bihar governor they would support Nitish.

He was again sworn in as chief minister on Thursday morning.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :