Published On: Mon, Aug 7th, 2017

Nagaland CM files another petition for disqualifying 10 rebel MLAs

Kohima: Nagaland Chief Minister T Zeliang on Monday filed another petition seeking the disqualification of 10 rebel Naga Peoples Front (NPF) legislators, who owe allegiance to party chief and his ousted predecessor Shurhozelie Liezietsu.

Zeliang won the vote, securing 47 votes in the 60-member house where one seat is vacant

In his petition to Speaker Imtiwapang Aier, Zeliang said the 10 legislators must be declared disqualified under paragraph 2(1)(b) of the Constitution’s Tenth Schedule since they did not vote in his favour during the floor test in the assembly on July 21, violating the party whip.

Zeliang won the vote, securing 47 votes in the 60-member house where one seat is vacant. He was supported by 36 NPF legislators, four BJP legislators and seven Independents.

Liezietsu, who is not a member of the assembly, was only backed by 10 NPF members and of one Independent.

On Friday, Zeliang had filed a composite disqualification petition against the 10 legislators for violating whip and absence from the house on July 19.

He said that he had issued whip to these legislators on July 18 as per the resolution of the NPF legislature party meeting on July 4 appointing him party whip.

The NPF is facing a severe internal crisis, especially after Liezietsu was toppled and Zeliang sworn in as Chief Minister for the second time on July 19.

The Liezietsu-headed NPF has expelled 20 of its legislators and suspended 10 others who were involved in toppling his government. Zeliang was the first to be expelled after taking oath as Chief Minister.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :