Published On: Tue, Mar 10th, 2020

Scindia quit Congress and all set to join BJP; Kamal Nath’s govt crumbling

New Delhi: With in no time of meeting prime minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday, senior Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia resigned from the primary membership of the Congress.

Scindia along with Union Home Minister Amit Shah met Prime Minister Narendra Modi at his residence

Scindia along with Union Home Minister Amit Shah met Prime Minister Narendra Modi at his residence 7 Lok Kalyan Marg. The meeting lasted for more than an hour.

Barely a few hours after Jyotiraditya Scindia resigned from the party, 21 MLAs including six ministers who are said to be close tohim submitted their resignation to Governor Lalji Tandon via email.

Here it may be mentioned that out of the 21 MLAs who resigned from the Congress, 19 of them are presently staying at a Bengaluru resort. Immediately after submitting their resination, they have sought protection and police escort by writing to the Karnataka DGP.

The resignation of 21 MLAs has further deepened the political crisis in Madhya Pradesh with Kamal Nath government on the verge of collapse the government in the state headed by Nath was having a thin majority with the support of  of the SP, BSP and the independents .

The names of the MLAs who have resigned include – Praduman Singh Tomar, Raghuraj Kansana, Kamlesh Jatav, Jajpal Singh Jadji, Imrati Devi, Prabhuram Chaudhary, Suresh Dhakad, Mahendra Singh Sisodia, OPS Bhadoria, Ranveer Jatav, Girraj Dandotia, Jaswant Jatav, Govind Rajput, Hardeep Dung, Munna Lal Goyal and Brijend Yadav.

Scindia’s resignation letter dated March 9 and addressed to interim Congress president Sonia Gandhi, mentioned in his resignation letter that it is time for him to “move on”.

The letter further stated , “While my aim and purpose remain the same as it has always been from the very beginning, to serve the people of my state and country, I believe I am unable to do this anymore within this party.”

According to reports, Scindia had been sulking for a long time as he was neither assured of a Rajya Sabha berth nor entruisted with the state Congress unit chief’s post, a position that is still held by Chief Minister Kamal Nath.

In the 230 member Madhya Pradesh Assembly, the Congress with the support of 3 SP, two BSP and four independents has tally of 114 MLAs with two seats currently vacant in the state Assembly.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :