Published On: Wed, Sep 9th, 2020

RS Dy Chairman election: BJP issues whip as Harivansh Singh files nomination

New Delhi: With politics brewing over the election for the post of Deputy Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha, the ruling BJP has issued a three-line whip to all its Rajya Sabha members to be present in the House on September 14, the day the House reconvenes and the election takes place.

The election will be held at 3 pm on September 14

Earlier on Wednesday the NDA candidate — Janata Dal (United) MP Harivansh Narayan Singh — filed his nomination for the post of Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

The whip issued by Shiv Pratap Shukla, BJP’s Chief Whip in the Upper House, cited, “very important legislative business”. The whip instructs, “All members of BJP in Rajya Sabha are therefore, requested to be positively present in the House throughout the day on Monday, September 14, 2020 and support the government’s stand”.

The Congress had mooted the idea of the Opposition putting up a joint candidate for the RS Deputy Chairman’s post. The name of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) leader Tiruchi Siva has almost been finalised as the common candidate by the Opposition.

Sources say the Congress has spoken to DMK Chief MK Stalin and he has given his consent to the name of Siva who is a senior leader of the party and a four-time Rajya Sabha MP.

The election will be held at 3 pm on September 14. Nominations will be accepted till noon on September 11.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :